My Nearly Urban Garden


Help!
June 24, 2009, 9:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I have to confess I am so ready for “lettuce season” to be over.

Don’t get me wrong, I love lettuce. I really do.

Last year, I made the critical mistake of planting everything at once. I also didn’t know that you can harvest lettuce and spinach as it grows. We ended up with so much lettuce that we were able to give lettuce to nearly every attendee at a cousins’ graduation party.

The “pick as you go” knowledge has resulted in enough lettuce to keep the two of us eating pretty good sized salads nearly every day for the last couple of months. Enough I say. One can only come up with so many appealing and healthy combinations that travel well for lunch.

I can’t say I was sorry to pull the bolted (read: bitter) spinach out yesterday to make room for the green beans I planted right next door.

The lettuce is still going strong though and it probably will for at least another week even with the 80+ degree temperatures we’re expecting.

I am pretty sure in a few weeks I’ll be lamenting the loss of my tender lettuce and will be pining for the last days of summer when I can get another round in before winter.

For now though, bring on the summer vegetables!


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So not only did we use the lettuce you gave us for Taco Rice, we had it last night on some burgers. Good stuff! Thanks!

Comment by Rob

so… I am eagerly awaiting a taco rice recipe.

Comment by nearlyurbangarden




Leave a comment